Day 282- People en Español

Going on 15 years, the Spanish-speaking community's answer to People Magazine is perhaps the most successful Hispanic publication in the U.S.

So, since I’ve been really getting in touch with my “Latina” self these past few weeks, let’s try reaching out to another Hispanic publication!

People en Español has a very intriguing history. The magazine was launched in 1995 after the murder of Tejano legend Selena. People released two different covers of a specific issue, one with Selena on it, and one with the cast of “Friends.” The former sold out, the other did not, and the rest is, well, history.

For years, the magazine has covered such niches as entertainment news, fashion, and beauty. Interestingly enough, however, I found an article on Brandweek.com claiming that People en Español recently decided to add health content to their repertoire. This might work out in our favor! If I contact the magazine, I might not receive a reply. I’m well aware of that, but I’ll write to them anyway. It would be even better if I could find a freelance journalist willing to write a story about “Holdin’ Out” and spina bifida awareness for the magazine. (Gee, I wonder where I could find a large group of journalists who might be interested in this endeavor!)

Sorry to cut it short, but it is two in the morning. Whether I’m tired or not, I have to give sleep a chance! Thanks for “tuning in.” And thanks to all the new members of our fan page! You’re the ones who are making all this possible.

Love,

Laurita♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

