Day 312- Epiko Magazine

Remember almost three months ago, when I attended the Hispanic Business & Consumer Expo here in Orlando? There, I was introduced to a new publication that was being launched at that event, Epiko Magazine.

Epiko is a bilingual publication that caters to the Hispanic community (again, the group with the highest incidence of spina bifida) on different levels. The magazine has a fashion section, a food section, and, most importantly, a health section.

Hopefully, the people at Epiko will feel compelled to publish a story about "Holdin' Out."

Upon hearing that oft-sobering statistic about spina bifida and Latinos, Juan Arturo Morales, president of Epiko, was intrigued. I am E-mailing him “as we speak” to get in touch with him, and ask if he is still interested in featuring a story about spina bifida awareness in an upcoming issue.

Here’s a brief update about me. While I still have a urinary tract infection, I’m drinking plenty of water and pure cranberry juice. I’ve actually been feeling better these past few days. It’s probably not due to the juice, since I only began drinking yet yesterday. I’m also trying to walk around the house more, so I’m at least moving a little. The truth is, the life of a 21st-century student, not to mention a blogger, is for the most part sedentary in nature. That sucks, because I’ve grown accustomed to sitting all the time, and I really don’t want to be an example of the “use it or lose it” idiom.

But, this is just me extrapolating. Honestly, I over-think things too much. I just need to get away from this tiny desk more often and breathe some fresh air!

On that note, I think I’m going to sign off. Take care of yourselves, all!

Love,

Laurita ♥

P.S. Yes, the banner was all that I found for an image with the magazine title. I’ve tried to be thorough here! You’re welcome. 😉

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 312- Epiko Magazine

  1. Michelle and Gracemarie Howland

    The article in Action magazine, a publication of United Spinal Association is very supportive. Congratulations on your efforts and feedback. You are amazing.

    • Laura

      Hi Grace and Michelle! I hope you both are doing great. I’m not sure I follow you…are you talking about a specific article in Action magazine? I receive it, but I haven’t yet gotten the latest copy.

      Much Love to all of you,

      Laura 😉

      • Michelle and Gracemarie Howland

        Your Blog is featured on page 16 of the July/August publication.

      • Laura

        Oh wow!! Thank you SO MUCH for letting me know. I haven’t received my copy yet in the mail. I wonder if there’s any way I could view it online as a .pdf? I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

