Day 315- Jordin Sparks

I’ve had a lot of time to reflect on what direction I want to keep steering this initiative towards. One thing seems clear to me now. From now on, I no longer want to focus on people merely because of their celebrity status. No, I want to contact people who I feel confident are truly making a difference in the world.

Take, for instance, American Idol winner (season six) Jordin Sparks. As far as I can recall, I have never seen her on the cover of a tabloid. I’ve never heard so much as a trashy rumor about her. That’s because Jordin’s all class. Look To The Stars reports, “Wholesome, talented and sincere are the three words that come to mind when speaking of the Grammy-nominated 2007 ‘American Idol’ winner.”

Media_httpwillyoubemy_gzjjb

Known for her wholesome image and giving personality, Jordin exudes goodness, according to Look to the Stars.

As it happens, it seems Jordin was raised to give back. “It doesn’t have to be a full global thing,” the 20-year-old told LTTS. “My mom’s making a difference, she has a heart for orphans and widows in Russia- so she’s been working on that. My brother has been making a difference in his community in Arizona, trying to raise money for their football team so they can get new jerseys.”

Philanthropy has been so influential in her life, so much so that Sparks recently launched “I’m M.A.D., Are You?,” a non-profit organization dedicated to helping youth implement their own charitable projects to benefit the cause of their choice.

She’s also currently involved in Allstate’s X The TXT campaign to encourage people to stop texting while driving.

So, to sum up, Jordin is a class act, through and through!

I hope you’re all enjoying the weekend and not staying cooped up inside all day (except while reading my blog entries, of course!) I will sign off for now, to go have dinner with my Dad. Please, keep doing your part and spreading the word. Share the link to this blog, and also the link to the Facebook page!

Love,

Laurita ♥

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 315- Jordin Sparks

  1. Nick

    Ya I think tinsel town celebs (as well as politicians) think that just throwing money at a problem solves it. Donating blood or volunteering at an elementary school is giving back all the same. You don’t have to be a powerhouse to do good.

  2. Judy Woodruff

    Laura, I’m so proud of you for sticking with your plan for almost an entire year. You have done an amazing job of raising awareness about spina bifida and hydrocephalus. I think your newly stated goal is even better than your original one. Just think of all you’ve learned since August of last year. Now you can build on that experience, as you search for individuals who are making a difference in the world. YOU have already made a big difference, and I predict you will go on to do much more.Good luck, I’ll keep watching!Best, Judy Woodruff

  3. Laura

    Judy, you do realize that your comment on my blog just made the rest of my year…?I’m so honored and humbled (simultaneously!) that you’ve been reading and following “Holdin’ Out.” (Also, did you read the entry I posted on Day 304? I’d love to get PBS involved somehow if there’s a way!)But just knowing that you’re cheering on this initiative is more than I could ever have dreamed.God Bless you, and I hope you’ll let me know if there’s any positive changes you think I should make to this site!Laura 🙂

  4. Judy Woodruff

    Laura,Thanks for your reply, I just looked at the PBS entry. It was right next to the entry about my husband, Al Hunt of Bloomberg News!Let me think about the best way to approach PBS. As you can imagine, producing a documentary is a complicated undertaking, that begins with having someone agree your idea is a good one.I will give this some thought, and come back to you.In the meantime, keep up the great work!Judy

Leave a Reply

