Day 316- NBA Cares

In basketball, as with all competitive sports, it seems everyone is in it to win it. But if there’s one court where all NBA teams come together in solidarity, it’s the court of philanthropy.

NBA Cares is a “global community outreach initiative that addresses important social issues such as education, youth and family development, and health and wellness.” I’d say public awareness of spina bifida would fit very well in their health and wellness agenda!

With 30 teams at their disposal, NBA Cares combines compassion with commitment for true all-star results!

According to the site, NBA Cares has raised over $140 million for charitable causes since its launch in October 2005. Among its key players are Vince Carter of the Orlando Magic (Blue and White Ignite!!!), New York Knicks’ Chris Duhon, and Portland Trailblazers’ Greg Oden, to name a few.

But let me also tell you about the real inspiration behind this profile of NBA Cares. I received a comment recently from a woman who has a 10-year-old boy with spina bifida. She writes that her son is on a basketball team for kids with our condition, but that it’s becoming increasingly difficult for the parents to support travel and other expenses for the team, mostly because of the costs related to simply living with spina bifida.

In light of this, I’m going to write to NBA Cares and ask them what they would be willing to do for the spina bifida cause– and maybe for a few of our own.

As many of you might already know by now (through my Tweets and my Facebook page), today I posted a video on YouTube announcing the launch of my own domain name, holdinoutforahero.org. This means that you’ll eventually be able to see all of the same content that you see on this site on the new Web site that I own, plus even more content, hopefully, in the near future.

For some reason unknown to even myself, I had the brilliant idea of shooting the video at the ungodly hour of 1 a.m. Of course, I needed a videographer, so Mom seemed like the easiest target. I have to say, she really came through for me! Although, I’ll mention that at 1 a.m., with zero camera experience, added to the fact that Mom is recovering from a throat infection and was on a total Tylenol-with-codeine-high, the first take wasn’t pretty.

So I posted it online, and here it is for your convenience! (Please excuse the lack of video and audio synchronization, which is not unlike the original Japanese version of “Godzilla.”)

And there you have it– my English-language YouTube debut. I guess you could call it a “crossover video” of sorts! Do check back often at the new Holdin’ Out for a Hero to see what’s new– or changed. I hope to add other widgets and social media apps soon!

Love,

Laurita ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

