Day 317- Columbia Journalism Review

It seems nearly impossible to believe that the first leg of our “Holdin’ Out for a Hero” journey is almost over. I’d be lying if I said it doesn’t make me feel the least bit nostalgic. It’s often been a very bittersweet journey, full of hope one moment, and then full of pain the next.

Media_httpwillyoubemy_cukrk

Since 1961, the Columbia Journalism Review has striven to uphold its tenet of editorial excellence.

But the journey itself is hardly over! I’ve got a brand-new Web site to keep designing, improving and nurturing. I’ve made invaluable contacts that have reached out to me before I’ve even contacted them. I’ve been able to read and hear incredible, sobering, and awe-inspiring stories about people with spina bifida, and I’d like to work hard in the next part of this journey to arrange my site in a way that will allow these stories to be profiled on their own– regular, ordinary people (like me), with extraordinary challenges and amazing resilience.

I’ve learned critical life-lessons from these people. I’ve learned not to be way too proud. I’ve also learned to take pride in everything I do, but to do it in a way that gives glory to God, who is the one leading me, and that gives credit to the people who make each step the way more bearable.

I’ve learned to follow advice from well-meaning people who just might have better ideas than I do.

I’ve also learned to bite the bullet. I’ve learned to accept criticism with class and grace, and I’ve also learned that it helps to go back and read some of the positive comments for strength when the critics get too loud in my head.

But most of all– I’ve learned to love. I love my life, both the Yellow Brick Road and the Valley of Tears. I love my supporters– all of them, be they family, friends, or people following my blog from different parts of the world.

And I love our Heroes– imperfect as they may be in real life, but deserving of respect for their efforts to rise above the challenges.

So, I think it’s time to write to another prestigious publication, the Columbia Journalism Review (CJR). According to the Web site, the mission of  CJR is “to encourage and stimulate excellence in journalism in the service of a free society.”

While content is available online, the CJR magazine is published on a bimonthly basis by the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism. I hope those who run the publication will be as inspired by the “Holdin’ Out” mission as I am! I feel very confident they will be.

Good Night, and Good Luck,

Laurita ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

