Day 323- Rep. Alan Grayson (D)

A little over a year ago, I was in line with Mom at the local post office. I remember clearly there was whining and grumbling– I hate post offices! (I have nothing against the U.S. Postal Service and its dedicated employees. I just find it very boring and often frustrating to wait in line there.)

Suddenly, Mom turns to me and whispers, “Look who’s two people ahead of us.” I looked.

It was Congressman Alan Grayson, who serves in our district. We were still in line when I walked up to him and said “Excuse me!”

Media_httpwillyoubemy_rrybc

Having dealt with health issues in his childhood, Grayson has genuine compassion for people with health problems.

This was before I had even started a blog, mind you, but my mission was already beginning to take shape. I knew I wanted to speak to politicians about spina bifida awareness. So, we talked for a bit, and I even asked for his autograph! (LOL, yeah I know.)

Unfortunately, I didn’t have a camera with me, or a camera phone. But it really did happen! 🙂

Since then, Rep. Grayson has gone on to become one of the most vocal supporters of health care reform. According to the biography on his Web site, Grayson himself was very ill as a child, and “his mother took him to the hospital four times a week, for treatment.” In an interview with the Philadelphia Jewish Voice, Rep. Grayson said he had dealt with really bad asthma and respiratory problems during his childhood.

In speaking to Alan Grayson that day, I felt that he knew exactly what I had been through. Like him, I’ve always been thankful to have adequate health care coverage. Many people are thankful to have that, but not everyone can anticipate having to use their coverage that often.

Grayson fought tooth and nail for healthcare reform, and that is a quality that I would admire in any member of Congress. That’s why I believe he’s a hero!

So, even if we’re done talking about the Congressional Spina Bifida Caucus members– for now– I want to urge Rep. Grayson to adopt the spina bifida cause as a platform for his in Congress.

In other news, I’m happy to announce that from now on, if you go to the old “Holdin’ Out” URL, you will automatically be redirected here. (Some of you probably noticed that already!) I finally decided to do this in order to avoid  any confusion or what they call “duplicity” with my Web site. So from now on, there will only be one “Holdin’ Out for a Hero.”

I hope you all have a great week!

Laurita ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

