Day 324- Buckner International

Day 324- Buckner International 0

The other day, I was perusing Facebook when I came across an interesting article. One of the many spina bifida moms who are friends with me posted it, and pretty soon, I was engrossed in reading it. (Thank you for posting it!)

The Baptist Standard published this article about a 9-month-old boy with spina bifida who is up for adoption in the Dallas-Fort Worth region of Texas.

His birth parents, both teens, decided they could not handle raising a child, let alone a child with special needs. My heart immediately went out to the little boy. He’s paralyzed from the knees down, and boasts a 1000-megawatt smile that melted my heart.

So, I decided to reach out to Buckner International, the  Christian ministry that is hoping to place this handsome young man with a caring family.

Buckner International was founded in 1879 as a home for orphans by a Baptist preacher named R.C. Buckner. Since then, it has evolved into a global ministry that provides “care and resources for orphans and at-risk children in the United States and more than 50 countries around the world.”

I E-mailed Buckner, and informed them that I was very moved by the boy’s story. (The article did not publish a name for “the boy.”) I hope my communication with them will encourage this wonderful organization to do more to help orphaned children with spina bifida and other special needs.
Well, I better go now. Dinner’s calling!

Love,

Laurita ♥

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

