Day 327- Ana Roca Castro (of LATISM)

Tonight I am redefining the art of multi-tasking. I’m packing to go to Sarasota tomorrow for my best friend’s birthday, and I’m also blogging, of course. Oh yeah– I’m also attending a party– that’s still in full swing!

No, I haven’t yet mastered the art of omnipresence. (If you do, however, please give me a call!) I’m at a Twitter party for Latinos in Social Media (LATISM), where funds are being raised for Latina bloggers to go to the BlogHer conference in August! I’m thrilled about this opportunity to meet fellow bloggers, many of whom I’m already friends with on Twitter and Facebook.

Indeed, LATISM has been a tremendously supportive network for me, and to think I only became part of the group a few months ago!

I’d like to encourage anyone who can contribute to the LATISM fund to please do so– whatever you can give will be greatly appreciated! The LATISM team has given me so much courage and has helped me to believe in myself as a writer– and as a person. This is why tonight, I’d like to pay homage to an awesome LATISM “tweep,” Ana Roca Castro, founder of LATISM. (This time, I mean it, LOL! You might recall my “misattribution” a few weeks ago, when I mistakenly named Kety Esquivel as founder. (She is Executive Director and CEO.)

Along with a team of people, Ms. Roca Castro started a development company, Premier Social Media. They came up with two “internal social networks (one for diplomats and ambassadors and one for an oil company).”

Ana has developed over 34 iPhone apps, 100 widgets, 50 applications for Facebook and MySpace, and over a dozen applications for the micro-blogging site, Twitter. She also implemented Oracle Systems for the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations.

As for me, I’m still trying to figure out how to use many of my apps, and Ana creates them for a living!

But what I really admire her is actually something much more simple, without the technical jargon. I admire her for bringing many people together, from very different walks of life, all for a common cause, which is to empower Latinos through the use of social media. You can follow Ana on Twitter at @AnaRC.

I should mention that the LATISM community has been incredibly supportive of the “Holdin’ Out for a Hero” cause and its mission for spina bifida awareness. A few LATISM board members have expressed a great deal of interest in helping out in the near future, and as soon as I have the specifics, I will be happy to share them with all of you.

Meanwhile, I have a party to get back to. I honestly don’t know when it’ll wind down, but it didn’t seem even close to being over the last time I checked Twitter!

Remember the #latism hashtag whenever you want to join in on the fun and meet some really great people.

Well, I’ve done almost next-to-nothing in terms of packing, so I have to go. But first, I’ll say “buenas noches” to my amigas at LATISM!

Un abrazo (“a hug”),

Laurita ♥

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

