Day 334- Dr. Oz

Today wasn’t a particularly extraordinary day. In fact, most of my days aren’t. After spending a long day at home working on some letters, I went grocery shopping with Mom and my Aunt Giny. It wasn’t anything very exciting, except that we got an obscene amount of groceries, but it was special. I enjoyed spending time with them, and that’s what matters.

I realized just how much I needed to get out of the house! Graduation seems closer now more than ever, but I know this isn’t the time to get panicky. I do look forward to having time to do things like, um, writing all my letters, getting at least a part-time job until I figure out what to do with that minor detail I like to call the rest of my life, and actually having time for my friends.

There’s a spina bifida-related project I’m so looking forward to working on soon, and of course I’m ready to raise a little more awareness– and a lot more hell!

So, I’m going to ask the time-honored question that’s probably on the minds of many newbie parents of children with spina bifida: is there a doctor in the house?

That’s right– I’m writing to Oprah’s very own health guru, Dr. Oz. Born to Turkish immigrants, Dr. Oz received an undergraduate degree from Harvard University, and his M.D. from the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine.

What do you know? You DO have to go to “Oz” to get a heart!

He’s currently Vice-Chair and Professor of Surgery at Columbia University, and, according to Wikipedia, “he directs the Cardiovascular Institute and Complementary Medicine Program at New York-Presbyterian Hospital.”

Besides having Oprah’s endorsement, Dr. Oz is very well-known for his “You” book series, which boasts six New York Times bestsellers. He’s also host of “The Dr. Oz Show” on which he offers tips for a healthier life.

As far as his charity résumé is concerned, Dr. Oz has participated in numerous fundraising and awareness benefits for different causes. In December of last year, he took part in Stand Up 2 Cancer On Demand, “the first-ever video-on-demand initiative” for such a cause.

In March, Dr. Oz joined in on Oprah’s Live Your Best Life Walk , the proceeds of which went to ten different charities, ranging from the Best Friends Animal Society to Share Our Strength, whose aim is to end childhood hunger in America by the year 2015.

So, even if doctors don’t really make house calls anymore, you can always make an appointment with Dr. Oz on T.V.! (It’ll save you a long trip to Emerald City and a tricky transition to technicolor!)

Let’s hope our spina bifida awareness cause tugs at his heartstrings. (Okay, I’ll stop now. I promise.)

Now I just want to make one quick announcement. The 4th Annual Detroit Hydrocephalus Walk is coming up on August 7. This event is organized by my friend, Jennifer Bechard, and her mom, Denise Bechard. Although I will not be able to attend myself, I hope that raising a little awareness (because that’s what we do at “Holdin’ Out,” apparently) will raise a few more dollars for this wonderful cause. My friend, Sara Inman, will also be walking at the event for her son, Kadyn. Both of these families know firsthand the terrible impact that hydrocephalus can have on a person’s life.Your donation will go directly towards the Hydrocephalus Association, and will fund research and fund programs that provide vital support to families affected by hydrocephalus.

So, please give from the heart. I know it often takes courage to give to a cause, but hydrocephalus is a very serious brain disorder for which we want a cure, so every little bit helps!

Thanks!

Love,

Laurita ♥

 

P.S. I know that, in time, you will forgive me for the roundabout “Wizard of Oz” reference.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

