Day 340- HITN Online TV

Today, I finally got access to Wi-Fi, courtesy of the Hilton New York, where the BlogHer conference is taking place. A party just started, after a day of workshops and networking. This conference has been advertised as the biggest gathering of bloggers in the United States. It’s absolutely thrilling to be a part of this family now.

There are women here, literally from all different walks of life. There are mommy bloggers, who write about their personal experiences with motherhood, being the keepers of their homes, and their careers. There are health bloggers, who discuss fitness, diet, health disorders, conditions, and who foster a network of support for people who are struggling with well-being.

The most important factor we share in common is being women. Whether we’re established entrepreneurs who have long ago started a social media company or a rookie blogger wrapping up her first year in the blogosphere (like me!), there’s enough moral support for everyone. The energy and solidarity in this room alone is spellbinding!

Of course, one of the most instrumental forces in getting me here was LATISM. I cannot thank my friends here enough for making it possible for me to attend.

Today, I got some very interesting information about who else made it happen. Ana Roca Castro (@AnaRC) informed me that a company called HITN sponsored my conference ticket. Ana told me that the selection committee for LATISM scholarships sent HITN my YouTube video on “Holdin’ Out” and that they “loved me!” Oh wow.

Needless to say, I felt both honored and humbled to hear that. I did a little research on HITN, and they are an educational network that focuses on issues relevant to the Latino community. Of course, I automatically thought about “Holdin’ Out for a Hero.” Since they are already familiar with our cause, I thought it would be great to officially reach out to them to thank them and also ask them to join us in spreading a little awareness.

The Latino community, as I’ve mentioned time and again, is the group with the highest incidence of spina bifida. (Yes, I know, I’ve mentioned it ad nauseam!)

Now, I want to tell you all about an awesome experience I had today. I was able to get up early enough to attend the BlogHer Welcome breakfast here at the Hilton. There, I finally met some of my good friends on Twitter, and we had a great time getting to know each other.

Then, I headed off to a session called “Change Agents: Build a Community Around Your Cause.”

I got some excellent advice on mobilizing for a cause, and I addressed the question about how to get legislators to care about my particular cause. I snagged some great contacts that I hope to be following up with via E-mail and Twitter after the conference.

About 45 minutes into the panel discussion, I got a text message from Spencer Day! He wanted to meet me at a local coffee shop in Midtown, and as luck would have it, he suggested a place that’s actually a few blocks from our hotel. I was so psyched to have the opportunity to catch up with him, and we talked and laughed for a while.

Spencer is currently working diligently on several musical projects, and he was meeting with three different lyricists today alone! He is truly dedicated to his work, and he does great at it. I really admire his work ethic.

He and I will most likely be in touch again soon after I return, and I’ll do my best to keep him up-to-date with our initiative!

I would post the pictures right now, but I didn’t know that I needed an adapter so I could post photos from my SD card.

Well, I have a party to get to, so I’ll try to get in one more blog entry in later tonight, and hopefully catch up tomorrow!

Peace and Love,

Laurita ♥

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

