Day 341- Blanca Stella Mejia (Mi Caminar)

God knows what He’s doing. I firmly believe that. This is why I left the decision to either attend BlogHer or attend my graduation entirely up to Him.

As it turns out, He has more than proven Himself once more. Meeting with such a diverse group of talented women bloggers (and a handful of men I’ve come across!) has been as amazing an experience anyone could imagine. There are many change-seekers and revolutionaries here, as well as people who want to simply reach out to others and help them.

One of these incredible people that I finally got to meet is Blanca Stella, who is another active member of the LATISM community. Blanca and I have been friends on Twitter for several months, but had never really talked until yesterday morning.

Blanca has a remarkable Web site in Spanish called Mi Caminar (“My Walk”), in which she and several others contribute inspiring stories.

 

Yesterday, Blanca shared with me that she had personally experienced life in a wheelchair after she was in an accident. Having recovered from that, as well as from several other challenges in her life, Blanca is such an inspiration to me as a person. She’s been incredibly supportive of my efforts, and gave my contact information to someone who was interested after I had to leave a workshop early to go meet Spencer!

Blanca even interviewed me both in Spanish and in English yesterday. (Needless to say, I’ve kept myself incredibly busy!)

Most of all, I’ve enjoyed the warm feeling of “sisterhood” during the short time I’ve personally known my fellow LATISM tweeps. Last night, a group of about 10 of us went to a small restaurant a few blocks from the hotel for sushi and drinks. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard in my life! (Laughter truly is the best remedy for all ailments, physical, mental and emotional. I think the LATISM ladies live by that principle!)

Dad arrived in New York today, and is staying with my Uncle Tom, so I can’t wait for him to join us in Manhattan.

So that’s my weekend so far in a nutshell. Having fun, living loud, and spreading awareness. I think we just might boost readership drastically from now till the end of the month, when we celebrate “Holdin’ Out’s” first anniversary!

 

Thank you all for continuing to raise awareness for Spina Bifida. And gracias, Blanca, for going out of your way for me, several times already. I’m proud to call you my friend.

Love,

Laurita ♥

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

