Day 351- Kaiser Family Foundation

I’ve learned a lot as a person, as a student, and as a professional since I began blogging almost a year ago. One of the skills that I believe I’ve polished is being able to talk to people– no joke! It’s often very difficult to approach people when you have an agenda, although in my case, I’ve approached many who were friends of mine to begin with. If you can’t establish your credibility with your friends, then who can trust you?

This is why I relish the “leads” that are offered to me by a trusted friend. In essence, by giving me that information, they are trusting me not to bombard said source with SPAM or with unsolicited propaganda.

One of the most awesome suggestions given to me was by my friend, Kevin Olivas of NAHJ. He told me about the Kaiser Family Foundation. They are a “non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.”

Two words: spina bifida. With the number of E-mails, blog comments and Tweets I have received from mothers who were advised to abort their unborn child with spina bifida by their doctors in the U.S., I would assume this problem is occurring abroad, as well, particularly in countries where the quality of health care would be deemed less than adequate for a child with a serious condition. (Yes, that was a very long sentence!)

The foundation’s main goal is to provide average people, policymakers, communicators, with unbiased information on health.

Through their news Web site, Kaiser Health News, the organization provides up-to-date facts, figures, and stories on the most pressing health issues of the day.

Kaiser conducts research on different policies, and their effectiveness in helping disadvantaged populations such as the uninsured, racial or ethnic minorities, or people with HIV/AIDS.

The Kaiser Foundation also provides insight into media coverage of particular health-related issues, which is further evidence of their dual emphasis on human health and quality journalism.

Since my blog is related to both health and journalism (because the media needs to be recruited in any awareness campaign!), I think they would be the perfect entity for me to get in touch with.

I’m sure there will be at least one other person who will back me up on this!

Peace out, dudes!

Laurita ♥

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

