Day 361- AARP Compartir Es Vivir

Things have been picking up the pace on the Twitterverse! (Twitter + Universe = Twitterverse, FYI.) I have a ton of new followers, some are Latinos, some are social media experts, some are entrepreneurs, and some are in the health industries. Some are even all of the above!

The important thing is, no matter where these new acquaintances are (and I’m following many of them back!), the word is getting out. This was the point all along. I certainly wish I had learned a few lessons in social media before I started this effort. I would have avoided a lot of confusion– and frustration.

One of my newest followers is @Compartir_Vivir. Compartir Es Vivir (“Sharing is living”) is an initiative of the American Association of Retired Persons to put people in touch with opportunities to do good in their communities, and in the world.

But, if you’re at all like me, what you should be registering at this very moment is this: oh-em-gee, the AARP is following me, a 23-year-old! (I could have sworn I saw a gray hair earlier today.)

Hey– I’m no ageist! But I’ll admit, it did raise an eyebrow even when I told my parents.

But Compartir Es Vivir had checked out my blog, and ReTweeted it. What’s more, they shared it on their Facebook page with all of their fans!

If you’re feeling left out because of the Spanish-language-barrier, don’t worry! I found out that AARP has an English-language page for this effort, Create the Good.

I hope that I will be able to connect further with these people, and find out how they can help Holdin’ Out for a Hero attain success into our next year!

Apparently, there are many more people than I originally thought almost a year ago, who believe that spina bifida awareness is a cause worth fighting for.

On a side note, I’d like to mention that I am a few short weeks into using Miralax almost everyday. I’m killing two birds with one stone (although I hesitate to use that saying– I have a parakeet, you know!) by adding the capful of Miralax powder to my pure cranberry juice (okay, pure but diluted with water and slightly sweetened!). This is much, much better than drinking a cup of lumpy coffee! Thank you so much to JoAnn Mullins for the advice! I love you spina bifida moms.

In the meantime, I will keep trying to figure out just how much of it I should be taking, how often. (It works a little too well. Oh dear.)

Love,

Laurita ♥

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

