The Happiest Place on Earth

Today was another one of those days in which I’m very lazy offline, but very active and busy online! I mean, I made my bed and ate meals and took breaks from my online life, but my biggest achievements lately are made online– through valuable connections and interactions.

I officially registered for the Blogalicious conference! I’m very excited to share the mission of Holdin’ Out for a Hero with attendees, companies and exhibitors in Miami. It will also be so much fun to get to see my friends from BlogHer!

I’m still looking for sponsors to attend the conference, but at least I know I’ve got a spot secured.

This post is a continuation of all the events that took place over the weekend! (Although, it’s really sort of a continuation in reverse, because I blogged about what happened on Monday, and now I’m going to tell you all about Sunday!)

This post is a continuation of all the events that took place over the weekend! (Although, it’s really sort of a continuation in reverse, because I blogged about what happened on Monday, and now I’m going to tell you all about Sunday!)

 

During the weekend (Saturday morning, I think), I found out that Kety Esquivel of LATISM would be visiting Orlando! Having married in Tibet, she and her newlywed, Rich McCarson, wanted to enjoy a one-day honeymoon at The Happiest Place on Earth– Disney World, of course!

I contacted Kety via Facebook to see if she wanted to meet with me, and she agreed to meet on Sunday for breakfast!

 

Mami, Kety, Rich and I met for breakfast at Earl of Sandwich in the Disney Marketplace. It was so incredible to finally meet one of my friends on Twitter, and of course, one that I’ve profiled on Holdin’ Out for a Hero!

If you recall, Kety is a very entrepreneurial woman who has started several non-profit organizations, has been active in the political sector, has served on several boards, has been a speaker at many social media conferences, and is a published author, a blogger, and a contributor for The Huffington Post.

 

*WHEW.* Needless to say, I was overwhelmed just thinking that I would be meeting this powerhouse! But Kety is as unassuming as anyone could be. She lights up when talking about her world travels, but not in a boastful sort of way. I could tell she is the sort of person who relishes adventure!

She also loves reaching out to people and helping them to form meaningful connections with others. While I was only able to spend a brief amount of time with Rich and Kety, the new Mrs. McCarson assured me that we would have to chat at Blogalicious! (And I absolutely cannot wait to pick her beautiful brain.)

Of course, I told her about what I plan to do next with Holdin’ Out for a Hero. Kety was all ears, and she offered words of wisdom and encouragement. I feel confident that I will be able to go to her in the future for advice (or even comfort, if need be!) on what lies ahead for us.

Mazel Tov to you and Rich for taking the plunge. May you have many, many years together of marital bliss!

I will upload better quality photos of my meeting with Kety soon. I just need to upload them to my computer, so I shared the one from my iPhone instead.

I’ve realized after many fascinating and inspiring conversations with people with spina bifida or hydrocephalus or other conditions, with parents, with siblings, with journalists, with bloggers, with non-profit leaders and many others, that indeed, the Happiest Place on Earth for me is this– right here, right now, doing what I love. I owe it to all of you for helping me reach this conclusion!

Love,

Laurita♥

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

