This Week’s Rundown – Getting Back into the Game of Life

I think I long ago made it clear what type of person I am. I’m the kind of person who cannot be doing just one thing. If I do only one thing, it will not get done at all. I’d rather have ten things to keep me busy, and I can almost guarantee that they’ll be finished! Yeah I know– go figure.

This is where I’m happiest– that midpoint between “I’m happy and doing what I love” and “I’m ready to pull my hair out.”

Maybe it’s a general problem with staying motivated and focused on what I have to do. I have ADHD; I was diagnosed while in college while struggling with a class. I’ve heard a lot about ADHD among people with spina bifida, but I think it’s very rarely discussed in detail.  

But more about that in a future post, hopefully. If I get around to it, which is questionable.  

Here’s a quick list of some of the things I’ve been doing lately: 

 

  • Spending a LOT of time with a new group formed by my Church 

 

  • Organized the second outing for the young adults with Spina Bifida in my community 

 

 

  • Currently battling another UTI before it gets really bad (you know, “E.R. bad”)

 

Peanuts_gang

As you can see, much of my life is so typical of being a person with Spina Bifida. I am fighting to have a healthy social life, as well as have a healthy lifestyle in other areas. It’s tough. It’s hard work. It’s painful sometimes. But it’s worth all the effort when I accomplish something. 

During our outing with the young adults, the topic of depression came up at one point. I think my life is testimony to the healing power of having a social life, a solid, faith-based support system, and a devoted family. I honestly don’t know how I would live without any of these, now that I have them. Without them, issues like having a UTI would become a really big deal– the focus of my life. But fortunately, I’ve been very blessed now that it’s only a tiny fraction of my existence, and I can improve upon this. 

And I now know that, when I’m hanging out with friends in a lively environment (we went to Downtown Disney Marketplace in Orlando), it ceases to be a group of people with spina bifida, and it becomes simply a group of people challenging the struggles– and having a great time in the process. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

