“Is this thing on?” : Technical difficulties & highlights in my ongoing campaign

I hope you all enjoyed a very Blessed Easter with your families and loved ones!

When I promised to blog at least once a week, I couldn’t foresee the challenges that were soon to come my way. To begin with, I found out last week that the department for which I worked as blogger for Marquis Healthcare has been cut, and so my boss and I, as well as another employee, were laid off. It was, of course, a huge bummer, since I have had nothing but wonderful experiences with the Marquis team.

But, I still firmly believe that everything happens for a reason, and during that time, I established connections with people that I am confident will endure.

Another recent, and if possible, even more frustrating, dilemma I’ve had is that our Internet at home right now is “intermittent.” This basically means I can log on for about thirty seconds (or less!) and then, it’s gone. It’s been like that for almost a month, and the problem has escalated these past few days. My family and I are hoping that our Cable/Internet company will fix the issue soon, but for now, I can only rely on those brief moments when the Internet works, or else I have to grab my laptop and take it somewhere that has Wi-Fi.

I think every piece of bad news should be followed with a piece of good news, don’t you agree? The Spina Bifida Association of America recently profiled me in their latest edition of e-Insights! While getting the attention of this national organization has been difficult for me, I am both honored and humbled to now have their official support. You can read their the SBA’s article about me here.

I’m also excited to announce that I will be partnering with my friend Sarah Mueller in raising funds for the SBA! You might remember Sarah as a guest blogger on this site. Her letter to AirTran Airlines following a humiliating experience while traveling has generated over 20,000 views for Holdin’ Out for a Hero! It is this ability to rally the public to her side and explain her mission so coherently that has compelled me to join her efforts. From now until the Fourth of July, the SBA is having its 4b4the4th annual fundraising campaign. (Read more about it at the link.) Several “Team Captains” have volunteered their time and effort to help raise money, and the Team Captain who raises the most funds will be sent to next years SBAA conference!

So, it should come as no surprise to you that I am officially endorsing Sarah Mueller as our Team Captain! Sarah has never been able to attend the SBAA conference, and, should she attend, she hopes to garner valuable information which she will then share with us via vlogs (video blogs).

I sincerely hope you will join me in supporting Sarah, as she has been a valuable supporter of Holdin’ Out, and is an incredible asset to the spina bifida community. Below, please watch a vlog she recorded to explain further details on how you can donate or help spread the word. Make sure to please share this video with everyone you know, and on every site you can think of!

Before you go, I’d like to share a tiny glimmer of hope with all the supporters of my cause. A little over a week ago, I received an E-mail from CNN anchor Soledad O’Brien! She mentioned that she would like to schedule a time to speak with me. Although I have no idea what she will suggest, she offered her support in helping me get the word out more effectively. I’m thrilled at having received a reply from such a prominent member of the media! You might or might not recall that I’ve met Soledad on a number of occasions at NAHJ events, but we really haven’t gotten to talking for very long. I’m humbled and encouraged by her response. As always, if anything comes of this, I will definitely let you all know. *Fingers crossed*

For now, let’s focus on making Sarah’s video go viral!

 

Love,

Laurita 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

